Recipe Apology

I just realized I don’t put measurements in my recipes.

I apologize for that.  I figured out the reason why my recipes are so vague.

image

My dad never used recipes and he would just go by intuition.  I can see him now tasting a concoction and adding a little of this or a lot of that to make it perfect.

My mom always used recipes.  She swore that she followed those recipes exactly. But I remember it differently. For example, when she made bread she would have the recipe in front of her.  She would carefully measure out the ingredients.  She would then add more liquid or more flour and I’d ask her how she knew to do that and she would just tilt her head in that Doris fashion and smile but never give me a real answer.

Doris would also, after following any recipe carefully, taste it and add this or that.  Then she’d rewrite the recipe with her “corrections”.

I just realized tonite that Sam and Doris gave me their cooking style, a real gift, but making it impossible for me to follow a recipe….

I have a terrible habit of reading cookbooks like other people read novels. I seriously have at least 100 cookbooks.  My husband had a rule he was trying one summer with the kids about reading as a family for a little while each day.  I would read cookbooks, my step-kids found this hilarious but also curious and asked me more than once, “Are you going to cook anything out of that book?”  It seemed like I never did.

I realized tonight that I often did cook something out of those books but I did it the Sam and Doris way, by taking a recipe and making it mine.  Before even cooking a dish once I had already made changes!

No measurements necessary make that recipe yours!

 

Leave a Reply

