2014-11-23 Sermon “Finding God in Discarded Places” Tezenlo Thong

Finding God in Discarded Places

Matthew 25:31-46

Where do you encounter God? Where have you experienced God? If you want to find God, where would you go to? Normally, you would go to a “holy” place. You would go to a church, because that’s where you think where God is. It is often at unlikely times and places that we meet God.

The scripture this morning seems to be telling us that God is not in church. God is not in holy places. God is not found in where we gather to worship.

Jesus says, “If you want to find me, go out to the streets and there you will find with a sign. If you want to find me, go to the prisons. That’s where I am. Go to hospitals, and there you will find me. I am the guy sleeping underneath the bridge. I am the little girl who goes to bed hungry every night because her parents don’t have enough money to buy food. I am the sick person who has no one to pay a visit. I am the sick who need medical attention. I am the hungry and thirsty stranger you drive by every day. I am not in church. I am at discarded places. You will find me in forsaken places of society.”

Where do you encounter God? Where have you experienced God? God is not here; God is in the least expected places. Go and meet God where God is – the forsaken places of the world.

Tezenlo Thong, Pastor

Simpson United Methodist Church


Leave a comment