Knitting and Crocheting for Cancer Patients

image

I joined the Simpson Knitting and Crocheting group to learn to knit and crochet.  The group is focused on charity work and are a very talented bunch of craftswomen.

Here are some hats I delivered this week to the Good Samaritan Radiation Oncology department.  Many of the patients have already gone through chemotherapy and have lost their hair.  The staff at Good Sam was excited to receive this donation as with the colder weather coming to Colorado they knew the hats would be appreciated.

I never imagined I would be delivering these donations as one of the patients!  I now personally realize the feeling of gratitude that absolute strangers are reaching out to those in need.  Every time a recipient dons one of these hats they will remember that they are in the thoughts and prayers of our group.  A positive and hopeful attitude is very important to recovery.

Now I just wish I could learn to knit or crochet!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Knitting and Crocheting for Cancer Patients”

  1. I signed up for a crochet class at the local museum, but when I arrived they had no record of my registration and the class was full. I didn’t know whether to be upset or relieved.

    1. Well I knitted 3 mittens so I needed one more as I don’t think there are any children with 3 hands. I have torn the 4th mitten apart too many times to count and for some reason I cannot get the project done. Perhaps I will throw away the 3rd mitten and claim I got one pair done. Be relieved, very relieved. Seriously, I was trying to knit the last mitten when all my personal cancer stuff started and I just can’t concentrate. It is a lot of fun. I haven’t even tried crochet yet!

Leave a Reply

